Glenns Ferry Historical Museum
Built in 1909 from sandstone blocks quarried across the Snake River and carried to the site by wagons and a barge, this building served as a school from 1909 to 1965. In 1987, the building gained a place upon the National Historical Register and was purchased by the City of Glenns Ferry to become a museum for the collection of items signifcant to the history, development and the lifestyles of the people from the Glenns Ferry, Hammett and King Hill areas.
This area has been blessed with people of diversified interest due to the early Indian inhabitants, pioneers coming on the Oregon Trail and staying to develop the sheep and cattle industries here, the Oregon Short Line Railroad making Glenns Ferry a division point, and the King Hill Irrigation Project bringing early farming development.
The museum is home to a collection of material from these significant diverse eras and industries as well as memorabilia from schools, households, and personal belongings.
There is no charge to visit the museum, however, donations are appreciated since that is the means of support by which we are able to continue renovating the building and further advancing the quality of the museum exhibits. Museum hours: Saturdays and Sundays Noon-5 p.m., June 1st through September 30th, or by appointment.
152 W. Cleveland 208-366-7706
Three Island Crossing State Park is located on the Snake River at Glenns Ferry. It is home to The Oregon Trail History and Education Center where visitors can learn about pioneer emigrants and Native American history. Oregon Trail pioneers knew this spot well: It was one of the most famous river crossings on the historic trail. Pioneer travelers used the Three Island Crossing until 1869, when Gus Glenn constructed a ferry about two miles upstream.